Dodge Ram 1500 3.6L Firing Order (Read This First)

The Dodge Ram 1500 is a good truck with maximum functionality and power. Power output is one of the endearing qualities of this vehicle.

It can perform heavy duties while maintaining speed and comfort.

However, several factors contribute to this power output in your Dodge Ram 1500.

The firing order is one factor that contributes to the power output you and I love so much. But what is this firing order?

Firing order is the sequence or pattern at which each cylinder in an engine gets ignition. This definition applies to ICE engines. For spark plug engines, it is the order of spark plug operation. Spark plug engines use gas or diesel. These are the engine types you’ll find in your Dodge Ram 1500.

What is the Firing Order on a 3.6 L?

The firing order depends entirely on the number of cylinders. For example, for a 3.6L engine, the cylinders are six.

The sequence or firing order also depends on the angle at which the engine ignites each cylinder’s spark plug

Another factor that influences the order is the designated number given to the engine.

The numbering sequence of the cylinders also often affects the charge on your 3.6L. Most brands pick the cylinder closest to the driver as number one. 

Some other brands pick the cylinder frontmost on the left bank as number 1, and the cylinder behind it is number 2 and in that sequence.

The cylinder frontmost on the right bank starts with the number 4 and the rest numbers sequentially in that order.

Some other brands alternate the numbers. For example, number 1 goes to the frontmost left bank cylinder while number 2 goes to the one at the right bank.

This different numbering sequence and pattern define the firing order for most V6 cylinders you find in a 3.6L engine.

In addition, this variation makes it possible to find other firing orders in engines with the same number of cylinders.

For many engines, here are the standard firing orders.

  • The firing order is 1-6-5-4-3-2 for engines with 270 degrees between cylinder banks.
  • The firing order is 1-5-3-6-2-4 for engines with 90 degrees between cylinder banks.
  • The firing order is 1-2-3-4-5-6 for engines with 60 degrees between cylinder banks.

Whichever sequence the engine follows, it is essential to note that the cylinders do not get the ignition stroke one after the other in close order.

If they do, it leads to overheating on one side of the engine while the other is cool. In addition, this distribution of heat disrupts the function of the engine coolant system.

It also affects the crankshaft, and there is a loss of balance in the engine. As a result, the engine starts to misfire or idle roughly.

The firing order ensures you have maximum output from the engines while maintaining balance and safety. 

2014 Dodge Ram 1500 3.6 Firing Order?

Interestingly, the firing order for the 2014 Dodge Ram 1500 3.6 engine is in the sequence 1-2-3-4-5-6.

The series at the driver’s side from front to rear is 2-4-6. The sequence for the passenger side is 1-3-5.

While the number might make it seem like the cylinder’s ignition happens one after the order, it does not.

The arrangement makes it safe to follow this sequence. Which also makes it possible for the engine to fire in the above order without overheating. 

2015 Dodge Ram 1500 3.6 Firing Order?

Suppose you are looking to replace your 2015 Dodge Ram 1500 engine. In that case, it is essential to remember that the firing order is the same as the older models.

It is 1-2-3-4-5-6 in the sequence. The engine continues to provide enormous power output. And each year, newer models have machines with more power and less noise.

The 17mpg fuel efficiency in the city and the 25mpg on the highway show just how much you can get from this truck.

It is for every heavy-duty, including towing and dragging of airstreams. 

2016 Dodge Ram 1500 3.6 Firing Order?

With a horsepower of 305 and 269 torque, the 2016 Dodge Ram remains a viable option in the power output arena.

Of course, this power output is thanks to the firing order and some other things. “When it is not broken, there is no need to fix it.”

Going by that principle, Dodge decides to stick to the same firing order as older models.

The 2016 Dodge Ram 1500 3.6 firing order is 1-2-3-4-5-6. The cylinder maintains the same numbering sequence as before.

This consistency ensures continued impressive output. 

2017 Dodge Ram 1500 3.6 Firing Order?

The 2017 Dodge Ram 1500 3.6L V6 engine can tow up to 7,610 when on the road. This powerful output speaks volumes of its efficient firing order.

The factory sticks to the same firing order with this year’s vehicle model as before. 

For the 2017 Dodge Ram 1500 3.6L, the firing order is 1-2-3-4-5-6. Simple and effective. The frontmost engine on the left side remains the first engine.

The sequence of firing continues to generate increased power output for this car.

2018 Dodge Ram 1500 3.6 Firing Order?

The firing order in this vehicle remains the same for this year’s model. However, the engine prioritizes better engine performance with improved fuel efficiency.

As a result, the horsepower and torque also experience improvement compared to older models of the vehicles.

The 2018 Dodge Ram 1500 3.6 firing order is 1-2-3-4-5-6. The same as older models of the vehicles.

The sequence remains as a result of the cylinder arrangement. Talk about consistency. 

However, the fuel combustion power to improve fuel efficiency is new and exciting for owners.

2019 Dodge Ram 1500 3.6 Firing Order?

The 2019 model of this vehicle gives new vehicle owners sometimes exciting in terms of engine build.

The addition of e-Torque makes it possible for your engine to produce more power, which translates to speed on the road and control when off the road. 

The 2019 Dodge Ram 1500 3.6L engine maintains the same firing order of 1-2-3-4-5-6 sequence as the older models.

The cylinder sequencing also remains the same, with the numbering on the left bank coming first.

Note that there are other engine options with different capacities and numbers of cylinders. This change also indicates a different firing order. 

The notable addition for the vehicle for this year is the addition of e-Torque to the Pentastar engine.

This workhorse of an engine continues to improve in power output and less engine noise. 

Final Thoughts

The Dodge Ram 1500 vehicles provide strong power output irrespective of the model year.

Knowing your car’s firing order ensures there are no misfiring, noisy vibrations, and roughness when driving.

With Dodge Ram, it is in a sequence that is hard to forget. You have little fear of misfiring because it is a firing order you can’t miss.

Similar Posts